New rulebook FAQ!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:40 pm

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1490286a_FAQ_40Krulebook_version1_1.pdf

Study, there will be a test!
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by zephel on Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:41 pm

wtf?
avatar
zephel
Dark Apostle

Male
Number of posts : 454
Age : 24
Location : cubatown hialeah
Armies : Eldar, Dark Eldar
Registration date : 2010-09-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:02 pm

Kool, if a transport vehicle (wave serpent) moves flat-out and is destroyed. The passengers are removed as well. Oh, Units moving flat out during scout moves dooo get a cover save. My deffkoptas weep with joy.
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by The Eldar Guy on Wed Nov 17, 2010 8:22 pm

Quite long. A lot of obvious stuff- like the transport question above. btw, that applies to any vehicle moving over 12", BA included. It is almost -never- good to move over 12" with a transport vehicle.

These I found interesting:

Q: If a skimmer tank shocks or rams an enemy unit that is
in terrain must it take a Dangerous Terrain test? (p71)
A: Only if it begins or ends its move in the terrain.
Interesting...

Does a skimmer that is moving flat out whilst
performing a tank shock get the 4+ obscured save against
the Death or Glory! Attack? (p71)
Doesn't make sense against shooting attacks. Just another nerf to skimmer flat out.

Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.
Valkyries/Vendettas?
avatar
The Eldar Guy
Chaos God

Male
Number of posts : 1571
Age : 29
Location : Miami
Armies : Eldar(40k & BFG), Dark Eldar (WIP), & Dark Elves
Registration date : 2008-06-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:00 pm

So any skimmer transport moving flat out that gets immobilized is destroyed and their passengers.
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by The Eldar Guy on Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:22 pm

Any vehicle moving flat out (over 12"). BA Rhino, ork truck, Eldar/Dark Eldar transports, etc.
avatar
The Eldar Guy
Chaos God

Male
Number of posts : 1571
Age : 29
Location : Miami
Armies : Eldar(40k & BFG), Dark Eldar (WIP), & Dark Elves
Registration date : 2008-06-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:29 pm

A lot of IC stuff too.
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by The Eldar Guy on Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:58 pm

Remember that 'turn' refers to 'player turn.'

Player 1 rams a vehicle flat out and suffers a 'wrecked' result. The unit inside is destroyed.

Player 1 moves their vehicle flat out.
Player 2, in his shooting phase, wrecks Player 1's vehicle. Unit inside is free to disembark.

The actual rule for reference:

Page 70
"Passengers may not embark onto or disembark from a
fast vehicle if it has moved (or is going to move) flat
out in that Movement phase."


Last edited by The Eldar Guy on Thu Nov 18, 2010 12:50 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
The Eldar Guy
Chaos God

Male
Number of posts : 1571
Age : 29
Location : Miami
Armies : Eldar(40k & BFG), Dark Eldar (WIP), & Dark Elves
Registration date : 2008-06-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by Garm on Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:58 pm

The thing where moving flat-out and getting destroyed also kills the passengers, where did that come from? Was there some existing rules conflict that caused this to be FAQ'd? That's pretty big for my boyz, and my upcoming eldar, as well.
avatar
Garm
Traitor Marine

Male
Number of posts : 137
Age : 33
Armies : 40k: Orks, Dark Eldar - Fantasy: Beastmen
Registration date : 2009-06-25

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Thu Nov 18, 2010 12:02 am

Your boys are safe. Trukks have a different rule when they get wrecked. Your DE only on your turn.
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:38 am

Q: Who gets a cover save when two units are intermingled? (p21)
A: The unit with the model closest to the enemy that is firing does not have a cover save.
I like this one too.
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jerryb on Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:28 am

zephel wrote:wtf?

wtf, to your wtf?
avatar
jerryb
Chaos God

Male
Number of posts : 1451
Location : The Hidden Forrest
Armies : AT-43, Pyrates, Battle Tech
Registration date : 2008-06-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by rokassan on Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:37 am

Has there been a coup at GW and the winner is pro-customer or have they seen the writing on the wall and are playing catch up.

_________________
"If your looking for sympathy get a dictionary...I think it falls between shit and syphilis".
Quote from unknown Italian Soldier..." Our armour is paper thin, our transport is non-existent but we have the best damned hats of any army in WWII!
avatar
rokassan
Internet bully

Male
Number of posts : 3599
Age : 42
Location : Miami
Armies : [40k]Chaos SpaceMarines,IG,Orks,Chaos Demons[FoW]MW-Italians,LW-Pnz.Gren(Grossdeutchland Div.),LW U.S.Para's,[Fantasy]Orc's [LotR] Easterling force,FoW-EW French force.(LW and MW) Hungarian Tank company.
Registration date : 2008-02-27

View user profile http://splinterfaction.bigforumpro.com

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:42 am

Pretty sure it's catch up.
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by rollo on Thu Nov 18, 2010 12:23 pm

makes sense on the vehicles really happy with the nerf on BA stuff
avatar
rollo
Traitor Captain

Male
Number of posts : 268
Age : 27
Location : miami
Armies : sons of doubt chapter/ethereal high council guard
Registration date : 2008-03-04

View user profile http://www.myspace.com/honorandgloryrollo

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by The Eldar Guy on Thu Nov 18, 2010 12:48 pm

I really like the skimmer's ability to tank shock through terrain and not worry about dangerous terrain. Very Happy
avatar
The Eldar Guy
Chaos God

Male
Number of posts : 1571
Age : 29
Location : Miami
Armies : Eldar(40k & BFG), Dark Eldar (WIP), & Dark Elves
Registration date : 2008-06-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:04 pm

If you end in it you do.
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jspyd3rx on Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:06 pm

Can't stop thinking of how many times all 15x of my deffkoptas got pwnd because I thought they couldn't get their flat-out cover save during scout moves.
avatar
jspyd3rx
Chaos God

Number of posts : 1190
Registration date : 2009-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by jerryb on Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:00 am

rokassan wrote:Has there been a coup at GW and the winner is pro-customer or have they seen the writing on the wall and are playing catch up.

One day GW MAY get it, then it will be a matter of timing. Will it be to late?
avatar
jerryb
Chaos God

Male
Number of posts : 1451
Location : The Hidden Forrest
Armies : AT-43, Pyrates, Battle Tech
Registration date : 2008-06-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by ImAShakiraholic on Mon Nov 22, 2010 5:02 pm

Trying to balance out mech and IC rape. Skimmers have been nerfed since the beginning of 5th anyways... I'm down with the new FAQ.

_________________
Rokassan wrote:Max is a Primarch.

Accomplishments: +7 RTT wins. Local Menace and often feared in Miami 40K gaming. 2008 - 7th Overall Adepticon team tournament. 22nd Necro 2008.
Tau: Chaos: Tyranids: Vanilla: Eldar: 'Crons: Adeptus Mechanicus:

AdeptusArt.com - Local Painting and modeling service for all gaming systems. Contact me for a quote.
avatar
ImAShakiraholic
Chaos God

Male
Number of posts : 1255
Age : 31
Location : WWW.CADILLACOWNERS.COM/FORUMS/
Armies : Chaos, Tau, Eldar, Tyranids, Necrons, Space Marines :: Vampire Counts, Hordes of Chaos (Khorne)
Registration date : 2008-02-29

View user profile http://www.40KWreckingCrew.com

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by KingdomCome on Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:15 am

jspyd3rx wrote:Can't stop thinking of how many times all 15x of my deffkoptas got pwnd because I thought they couldn't get their flat-out cover save during scout moves.
This is one of the few things I don't agree with in the faq that isn't supported by raw.
avatar
KingdomCome
Chaos God

Male
Number of posts : 1233
Age : 33
Location : Miami, Fl.
Armies : 40K: Tau, Eldar, SM FoW: Americans & Russians Infinity: Combined Army of EI WM/H: TrollBloods
Registration date : 2009-08-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: New rulebook FAQ!

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum